Skip to content ↓

Modern Languages

 

ML is a large, vibrant faculty made up of 11 teachers who are passionate about learning and teaching languages. This passion is evident in lessons, which are exciting and interactive and use a range of approaches to ensure our love of languages is passed on to our students. This passion for languages can be seen in our uptake at GCSE, with two thirds of the current year 10s and 11s studying a language, and many studying two languages. Our high expectations and high standard of teaching in the sixth form provide a strong platform for top university entrance. Last year’s year 13 results were outstanding, with 100% A* to C and 93% A* to B or Cambridge Pre-U equivalent.

Immersion in the target language culture is important in learning a language, and we encourage this through our popular foreign exchange trips to Paris, Barcelona, and Beijing. We also offer trips for our sixth form students and have recently visited Paris, Marseille Seville and Granada. 

On top of a strong reputation for European languages, Fortismere has been a pioneer in the teaching of Mandarin. Now growing in popularity nationwide, we have been at the forefront of Mandarin teaching for over 10 years, with excellent exam results to support our experience. Our status as one of the leading schools in the country was recognised recently when the first lady of China, Madame Peng, visited our school, where she enjoyed group performances by year 8 and 9 students, poetry readings and much more from our sixth form students and a discussion of various issues with our GCSE students.

Our reputation for Mandarin has also meant that we were one of only 15 schools in the UK to take part in the first year of the DfE's new Mandarin Excellence Programme, which is now in its third cohort. Last year we ran our first MEP trip and took our year 8 MEP class to Shanghai. You can read more about the programme here.

 

 

KS3

All students do a language taster session for the first term and a half of year 7. They have 6 lessons of Modern Languages per fortnight, during which they learn French for 3 lessons and Spanish for 3. We teach Mandarin to all Year 7s using a carousel system (details below). Each class will study Mandarin for a 3 week block, for 6 lessons a fortnight.

In January (or at the end of their 3 weeks of Mandarin), students are tested on what they have learned in all three languages. These tests will be used, along with teacher evaluation, to identify which students would benefit from continuing with two languages, should they wish to. All students continue with at least one language up to Year 9.

 

X BANK

Dates:

Block 1

4/9 – 28/9

Block 2

1/10 – 19/10

Block 3

29/10 – 16/11

Block 4

19/11 – 7/12

Block 5

10/12 – 18/1

7X1

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

Mandarin

FR/SP

7X2

FR/SP

Mandarin

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

7X3

FR/SP

FR/SP

Mandarin

FR/SP

FR/SP

7X4

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

Mandarin

7X5

Mandarin

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

 

X BANK

Dates:

Block 1

4/9 – 28/9

Block 2

1/10 – 19/10

Block 3

29/10 – 16/11

Block 4

19/11 – 7/12

Block 5

10/12 – 18/1

7Y1

FR/SP

FR/SP

Mandarin

FR/SP

FR/SP

7Y2

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

Mandarin

FR/SP

7Y3

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

Mandarin

7Y4

FR/SP

Mandarin

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

7Y5

Mandarin

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

FR/SP

KS4

We start teaching the GCSE course at the beginning of Year 9, using AQA. Students have access to course materials via their ActiveLearn account. For French we use the text book Studio (Bell, McLachlan, Ramage) and for Spanish, Viva (Hawkes, Lillington), both published by Pearson.

POST-16

For French and Spanish we use AQA. These courses are wide-ranging in their scope and cover many aspects of the target language culture as well as the language. More information can be found here:

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/languages/as-and-a-level/french-7652/specification-at-a-glance 
http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/languages/as-and-a-level/spanish-7692/specification-at-a-glance


For Mandarin we do the Cambridge Pre-U course: http://www.cie.org.uk/programmes-and-qualifications/cambridge-pre-u-mandarin-chinese-9778/

Additional Resources

All students studying languages should make regular use of ActiveLearn, Vocabexpress, Quizlet and This is Language, which feature all the vocabulary and grammar in the schemes of work used at Fortismere. Students have been given usernames and passwords to log in - they should speak to their languages teacher if they have any problems with these. The sites can be accessed from home but if students have issues doing so they should do their online work in the library.

A Note on German Provision

From 2016-17, we no longer offer German as an option at Fortismere. Our current year 11 cohort is the final year. No new students will be able to take up German.

Contact the Modern Languages Department

Rainey, Mr P Head of Modern Languages

prainey@fortismere.org.uk

Bruel, Ms V

ML Teacher

vbruel@fortismere.org.uk

Cuenca, Ms I ML Teacher

icuenca@fortismere.org.uk

Chapman, N Ms ML Teacher nchapman@fortismere.org.uk

Dabrowska, Ms J

ML Teacher (Maternity Leave 2018)

jdabrowska@fortismere.org.uk

Fineberg, Ms F ML Teacher

ffineberg@fortismere.org.uk

Huang, Ms H

ML Teacher (Maternity Leave 2018)

hhuang@fortismere.org.uk

Lewis, Mr G

ML Teacher

glewis@fortismere.org.uk

Lockwood, Mr B

ML Teacher

blockwood@fortismere.org.uk

Valdes, Ms N ML Teacher (Maternity Leave 2018)

nvaldes@fortismere.org.uk

Xiao, Ms G

ML Teacher

gxiao@fortismere.org.uk

Kaloga, Mr Ch ML Teacher (mat cover for Ms Sonan) Ckaloga@fortismere.org.uk
Timon, Mr S ML Teacher  stimon@fortismere.org.uk
Ravazzolo, Mr C ML Teacher cravazzolo@fortismere.org.uk
Hong, Ms Y ML Teacher(mat cover for Ms Y Li) yhong@fortismere.org.uk