Skip to content ↓

The Governing Body

The governing body consists of thirteen members appointed in accordance with the school's  instrument of government.

How governors are appointed or elected

Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school and the Staff governor is elected by staff employed by the school. Partnership governors and Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body on the basis of their skills and experience. The Local Authority governor is nominated by the LA and appointed by the governing body. 

The governing body may also agree to appoint Associate members  to draw on specific skills and experience

Governors serve a four-year term of office. The Chair and Vice-chair of governors are elected to those positions by the governing body for a four-year period of office.

The Chairs of the committees are elected on an annual basis.

The role of the governing body

Governors have a strategic leadership role that includes:

  • Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school to make sure its money is well spent. 

See the National Governors’ Association website for more information on the role of school governors. 

All governors agree to follow a Code of Conduct.  

Membership of the governing body



Term ends

Specific roles

Mark Chapman

Local Authority Governor

2 May 2025

Chair of Governors


Nigel Linton

Parent governor

3 Jan 2022


Ian Macaulay

Parent governor

3 Jan 2022


Reem al Rasheed Parent Governor 1 Sep 2025  
Rachel Howarth Parent Governor 1 Sep 2025  

Romina O'Hanlon

Staff governor

17 Dec 2024


Peter Harrington

Partnership governor

12 March 2023


Neil Amin-Smith

Co-opted governor

18 June 2022


Pat Dugdale

Co-opted governor

6 March 2022


Safeguarding governor

Wendy Sloane Co-opted governor 2 Feb 2024  

Lauren Overs

Co-opted governor (staff)

12 July 2022


Jo Davey &

Zoe Judge


Ex officio


Register of business and pecuniary interests

Governors are required to declare and publish details of any relevant business and pecuniary interests that could impact on their ability to act impartially in their dealings with the school.


Nature of business

Nature of interest

Reem Al-Rasheed Nil  
Neil Amin-Smith Nil  

Mark Chapman



Jo Davey



Pat Dugdale



Peter Harrington Nil  
Romina Harris O'Hanlon Nil  
Rachel Howarth Nil  

Zoe Judge



Nigel Linton Nil  
Ian Macaulay Nil  
Lauren Overs Nil  

Wendy Sloane



To contact the Clerk to the Governors, please email: