Skip to content ↓

Key Stage 3

Key Stage 3 of the National Curriculum is covered during years 7, 8 and 9, though most subjects will start Key Stage 4 (ie GCSE) material during year 9. 

The taught programme in KS3 aims to deliver the National Curriculum (NC) and to provide a broad and balanced education.

Subjects taught in KS3

NC Core Subjects
NC Foundation Subjects
Additional Subjects

Pupils will also experience work which relates to the 5 NC cross-curricular themes:

  • Careers
  • Philosophy
  • Economic and industrial awareness
  • Environmental education
  • Health education

Year 9 Options

In Year 9, students choose which Options they wish to study for GCSE at Key Stage 4. To find out more about this process, please visit our Key Stage 4 section.

Year 9 Options Fair 23 January 2019

Floor plan here