Skip to content ↓

English

A highly qualified and collaborative team of English specialists offer very high standards of learning and teaching. The aim is to empower all students with the ability to use language effectively and to inspire in them a love and a passion for literature. Our progressive two year KS3 curriculum offers a solid foundation for a rich and challenging three year programme for GCSE English and English Literature.

We foster creativity through developments in ICT, with interactive whiteboards and carefully designed units that encourage dialogue through exciting and challenging research tasks.

Beyond the curriculum there are regular features such as reading support, performance poetry and shadowing the Carnegie Book Award.

English A level enjoys huge popularity in the 6th Form, with many students going on to top universities each year. Reading groups, theatre trips, conferences and visiting writers such as John Mullan enrich the study of English at Fortismere.

KS3

Pupils explore a range of topics within literature and language study including our 'Shakespeare Research Project' and ‘Oliver Twist’. These units are designed to give pupils a firm basis in essay writing, reading for meaning, creative writing and speaking and listening skills as a preparation for GCSE study.

KS4

Pupils study a challenging three year curriculum with a range of stimulating topics. Our Y9 transition to GCSE course allows students to study war reportage as well as more challenging Shakespeare texts such as ‘Henry V’ and ‘The Winter’s Tale’ using critical viewpoints and socio-historical contexts. Other units such as the spoken language study in Y10 and the study of a range of poetry about relationships rom the ‘Moon on the Tides’ anthology promotes wider thinking skills and essay skills required for A Level study.

Post 16

Our English Language and Literature and English Literature A Level courses are popular and successful. Both courses prepare students for the demands of degree study in language, literature, drama, history, culture and more. Extra-curricular activities include a Y12 'Battlefields' trip linked to Wilfred Owen's poetry and theatre visits linked to set texts such as a visit to ‘The Changeling’ by Middleton and Rowley as part of students’ study of renaissance drama.

Extra Curricular

We provide a range of exciting trips, clubs and competitions. In Key Stage 3, students are invited to join in the Carnegie Shadowing group. Our Renaissance Reading scheme supports struggling readers and visiting authors and poets create fun opportunities for pupils to experiment with language. Our close links with the library ensure that pupils have a broad experience of reading and writing beyond the curriculum. Visits to the Globe theatre, lecture days on set texts at university conferences and the opportunity to pursue creative writing and film courses through enrichment options offered by the department, broaden students’ experience of English studies. The enrichment reading club uses classic texts such as 'Great Expectations' as a starting point for personal wider reading. Visiting university lecturers ensure pupils are prepared for the challenge of degree study. This year students have had A Level lectures from a range of lecturers specialising in a range of literary periods including lectures on Yeats and modernism as well as inviting authors to speak to students about crafting their own poetry and novels.

Contact the English Department

Norton, Ms A Head of English

anorton@fortismere.org.uk

Brooks, Ms E

English Teacher

ebrooks@fortismere.org.uk

Butcher, Ms N English Teacher

nbutcher@fortismere.org.uk

Coles, Ms C

English Teacher

ccoles@fortismere.org.uk

Corkery, Ms K

English Teacher

kcorkery@fortismere.org.uk

Fox, Ms K

English Teacher

kfox@fortismere.org.uk

Hearty, Mr P

English Teacher

phearty@fortismere.org.uk

Kirkland, Mr T

English Teacher

tkirkland@fortismere.org.uk

Mangan, Ms K

English Teacher

kmangan@fortismere.org.uk

Morris, Ms A

English Teacher

amorris@fortismere.org.uk

Riddell, Ms S English Teacher

sriddell@fortismere.org.uk

Young, Mr N

English Teacher

nyoung@fortismere.org.uk