Skip to content ↓

With a dynamic and imaginative staff team leading this exciting subject, it is no wonder that Fortismere is now a Specialist Maths College. Fully hi-tech rooms with computers and inter-active white-boards enable a creative 21st century approach to learning. Working on signalling projects with London Underground, exploring 'Maths in Paris', or doing structural investigations with Arup engineers - you name it, our students do it! The well attended Maths club offers creative challenges, puzzles and strategy games, as well as practice for the annual National Maths Challenge competition. 12  A level groups, including buoyant Further Maths sets, reflect the popularity of the subject, with large numbers of students going on to read Mathematics at Russell Group universities, and special STEP classes set up to support those preparing for Cambridge and Oxford applications. As part of the new specialist status, staff and students will be presenting a number of Mathematics seminars for parents and members of the community.

KS3

Our students follow a fast based and exciting two year KS3 scheme.  Lessons offer students variety and opportunities to use Maths in context.  Students use the mymaths website to support their learning both in class and interactively at home.  Over the two years students explore a range of topics within Number, Algebra, Shape and Space, Data Handling, all designed to ensure that they have a strong foundation in the understanding of mathematical concepts.

KS4

Most students follow a three year GCSE syllabus covering both mathematics and statistics GCSE.
More advanced mathematicians will follow through a two year fast track course.  Lessons are  planned to provide variety in teaching and learning.  Homework is an important component of the learning process, consolidating what is taught in lessons.  Students have a wide range of resources including the mymaths website to enhance their problem solving ability interactively and online.

Post 16

The A level course in mathematics gives students an introduction to the use of advanced level techniques of analysis, including the use of trigonometrical and exponential functions, sequences and series and basic calculus and cartesian geometry.  In addition students take introductory modules in discrete mathematics, statistics and mechanics.  The practical activities in statistics and the mathematical modelling in mechanics encourages critical and creative thinking and enables to students to tackle a wide variety of practical problems.  More advanced mathematicians are encouraged to follow the further mathematics course.  Classes are provided for Oxbridge candidates and the Advanced Extension Award is offered to all students if they wish to be challenged. 

Extra Curricular

KS3
The curriculum is enhanced at KS3 by opportunities to be involved in the National Maths Challenge, Jaguar Car Racing Club, World Maths Day Record Breaking attempts and external projects. Our students enjoy supporting the community and have raised over £1500 over the last two years for charity through sponsorship by playing Maths Team games.  This academic year, our Year 8 built a geodesic dome, showing them how mathematics can be used in architecture.

KS4
The curriculum is supported by school evening maths workshops, opportunities to be involved in Maths challenges and Saturday booster lessons in school.  Our A* students attended Saturday morning revision classes at the University of London.

Post 16
The curriculum is enhanced at KS5 by opportunities to take part in the Senior Maths Challenge, maths workshops and surgeries. Students also attend revision days at school.

 

Contact the Maths Department:

 

Jenkins, Mr P Head of Maths

pjenkins@fortismere.org.uk

Bywater, Ms E

Maths Teacher

ebywater@fortismere.org.uk

Cruz, Ms A

Maths Teacher

acruz@fortismere.org.uk

Gooriah, Ms V

Maths Teacher

vgooriah@fortismere.org.uk

Happy, Mr C

Maths Teacher

chappy@fortismere.org.uk

Harley, Ms A

Maths Teacher

aharley@fortismere.org.uk

Jayapal, Mr M

Maths Teacher

mjayapal@fortismere.org.uk

Jones, Ms E

Maths Teacher

ejones@fortismere.org.uk

Khatun, Ms S

Maths Teacher

skhatun@fortismere.org.uk

King, Ms S

Maths Teacher

sking@fortismere.org.uk

Lennard, Mr D

Maths Teacher

dlennard@fortismere.org.uk

Mahmood, Mr I

Maths Teacher

imahmood@fortismere.org.uk

McGuinness, Mr G

Maths Teacher

gmcguinness@fortismere.org.uk

McWalters, Ms B

Maths Teacher

bmcwalters@fortismere.org.uk

Zamyadi, Mr F

Maths Teacher

fzamyadi@fortismere.org.uk